Australian Baking Industry National Scholarship Aw...

Australian Baking Industry National Scholarship Awards

The 2020 Australian Baking Industry National Scholarship Awards presentation evening has seen the five regional winners presented with their trophies and medals, and the two national winners announced.

On Tuesday, May 26, the who’s who of the Australian Baking Industry gathered at Wentworth Park in Glebe, New South Wales to witness the long-awaited presentation, after COVID-19 brought industry events to a halt last year.

The five regional winners—Raymond Kamijo (Loafer Bread), Western Region Winner Kerry Yacoumis (Tasty Bakehouse), Jae Thomas (Allied/Pinnacle), Eastern Region Winner Jack Mylott (Cracker Jack Bakery) and Southern Region Winner Madison Chislett (Johnny Baker)—enjoyed a five day scholarship adventure, visiting various bakeries, patisseries and facilities around Sydney, including Brasserie Bread and Pepe Saya, and attendance at the cocktail reception and presentation, where the National Champion in both “The Denison Scholarship Trophy ” and “The Packham Baking Industry Medal” were announced.

The Australian Society of Baking, in conjunction with Scholarship Partner EOI Bakery was delighted to award the Arthur E Denison Trophy to Jae Thomas, while Jack Mylott took home the Sydney J Packham Baking Industry Medal.
Jae and Jack will hopefully be jetting off to either Vegas or Singapore in 2022. Their trip includes flights, accommodation, breakfast each morning and spending money.

Jack told Baking Business he hopes to go to Las Vegas, where he’d like to take in a show—’O’ by Cirque du Soleil.

Congratulations to these talented young people!

Click here to upload your own recipe

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *